Why to Comment When We Don’t Have To?

The day I passed the exam and gained the position of a translator job- Thank You God-, I was wandering around and looking for the place where I should sign some papers to make everything official.  I found a woman who was in charge and told her that I’m going to be working now but I needed someone to tell me where I should go to sign the papers.  She looked at me with a smile, “You didn’t get the job yet, you just passed the exam”.  I said nothing and just listened to the instructions and turned away.  As I walk far from her, I was thinking that didn’t she supposed to say congratulations or maybe say nothing? When you don’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all, isn’t that better? This way you won’t hurt anyone.  I know that I won’t start working now but I just said what I said because I just said it naturally with a spirit filled with happiness and excitement.

“If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.” -Dr. Maya Angelou

I love this saying and I try to follow it every day.  I also believe in ignorance and how it can help us to walk through criticism and discouraging comments.  I once read that our response of the incidents that happen to us is what controls how we feel.  I am just happy that my happiness didn’t break in that very special day of my life and I truly forgave her for the comment she made.  I just hope that I will always be strong enough to handle happiness breakers!

That’s it!

Feel free to share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

